Linguistics Faculty Awards

The Department of Linguistics is proud to recognize the following faculty for their achievements and recognition in the field. 

Dr. Gabriela Pérez Báez was recently awarded the Early Career Award by LSA. This award is bestowed for contributions to the documentation of Zapotecan languages, for raising public awareness of language diversity and endangerment, and for leading efforts to train members of speaker communities in North America and Mexico. The breadth of Dr. Gabriela Pérez Báez’s contributions is remarkable, and, as Curator of Linguistics at the Smithsonian Institution, she served for over eight years as a public face of the field within one of the world’s most important cultural institutions. Her leadership has allowed events such as the National Breath of Life Archival Institutes for Indigenous Languages to thrive, and her forthcoming Isthmus Zapotec dictionary will become a landmark publication.

Dr. Melissa Baese-Berk was also honored by LSA with the Linguistics Service Award for her work in Pop-Up Mentoring Program (PUMP). First presented in 2007, this award honors members of the LSA who have performed distinguished service to the Society.  The organizers of PUMP, working in collaboration with COSWL and conference sponsors in linguistics, have provided an invaluable service to linguists seeking short-term mentoring relationships. In just two years, PUMP has served 379 linguists at 15 conferences and Institutes. The volunteer organizers have donated many hours of time and effort to outreach and coordination, including matching mentors with mentees. Their contributions have provided invaluable support for those participating, and greatly helped to advance the LSA’s Mentoring Initiative.

Dr. Julie Sykes was announced as the new Editor of the association’s quarterly scholarly journal Foreign Language Annals (FLA). She will serve a three-year term as Editor, beginning in January 2020 and ending in December 2022 with the Winter 2022 issue.